logo

Trevor J's Place

Minecraft Story Follow Up

February 09, 2024

A few days ago I wrote a minecraft story for my son. Since then he’s been asking for more stories. I wrote a new one for him yesterday, and he loved it.

But when I told him that I was working on a 3rd story he looked disappointed.

“We’re going out to dinner tomorrow and I won’t get to read it until Monday.”

My kid apparently think that we can only do one thing per day, and that he can’t read on weekends.

I promised he could read it before we went to dinner and he was much happier. Now I just need to convince him that he can read on weekends.

I guess the key to getting struggling readers to enjoy reading is to write stories just for them, in topics they like, and at their very specific reading level.

Here’s the 2nd story:

Alex and the Cave

Alex was a brave girl in Minecraft. One day, Alex went deep into a dark cave. The cave was big. Alex had a torch to light the way.

Alex saw a skeleton! The skeleton had bones and a bow. It wanted to shoot Alex. But Alex was quick! Zip! Alex ran deeper into the cave.

There was a river of hot lava in the dark cave. With a quick jump, Alex was past the lava.

In the cave, Alex found a spider! The spider had lots of legs and wanted to bite Alex. But Alex was smart! Alex jumped over the spider.

Alex found shiny rocks in the cave. The rocks were called diamonds. Alex mined the diamonds and put them in a pack. Then Alex found gold too! Alex was very happy.

After walking for a long time, Alex found the way out of the cave. The sun was out, and birds were singing. Alex was proud.